Bree Taylor is Just What You’re Looking For!

21558562_10208951100528886_6192807761967904465_n

Carla’s Country Mile is very excited that Bree Taylor, an upcoming artist in the Greater Toronto area, will be joining us for a live interview Thursday night 9PM Atlantic Time Zone. You will be the first to hear her new single! Here is a little bit on Bree. More to come on the show!

 

(CCM) Let’s start by where were you born and raised? Where do you hang your hat now?

(BREE) I was born and raised in the Toronto area my entire life. We moved around the city a lot growing up but we were always in the GTA. I currently live in the outskirts of Toronto but am living on my own.

(CCM) What instruments do you play? Which ones do you wish you could play?

(BREE) I play a bit of piano and guitar but not very well. I really wish I had spent more time over the past several years keeping up my abilities better though because I love to play – I just wish I played well haha. I did play flute back in school and I have always wanted to play the violin!

(CCM) How do you approach song writing? 

(BREE) I approach songwriting from my emotions and things that I or those close to me, have gone through. I find it difficult to write something that isn’t personal or at least close to my heart in some way. I usually sit at my piano and play chords and just let the words and feelings hit me and from there the music flows and the songs come together. Other times I have written a song with a story or concept in mind that either I or someone close to me has gone through and create from there. I have also co-written and collaborated with other artists or producers in order to develop a really cool song as well but again the concept or story in the song comes from the heart 9/10 times.

(CCM) Tell us about a time that was really embarrassing on stage if you have any. If you did, also tell us how you overcame it.  

(BREE) Honestly, I don’t really have any embarrassing stories on stage. I always come to life on stage and love performing and I try to embrace every moment!

(CCM) If you weren’t playing music what else would you be doing? 

(BREE) I honestly can’t see myself doing anything but entertainment. However, I love psychology! I really would love to be have been a life coach or counsellor. I also went to University for Media Studies with a specialization in Public Relations so I would most likely be working in either of those two fields.

 (CCM) What concert did you see that was the most memorable and why?

(BREE) I would have to say Shania Twain because I grew up listening to her as a kid and just love her and her music. I have so many good memories of my life and childhood listening to her music and she inspired me so much musically when I was growing up. My mom and I saw her in concert a couple years ago and it was truly amazing to see her on stage and performing the music I grew up loving so much. It was also great to experience to share with my Mom since Shania was an artist that we often listened to together.

(CCM) Do you have a day job? If so what is it that you do?

(BREE) I do! I work in an optometry office as an optometric assistant and receptionist. I am also a YouTuber and have my own online business on Etsy.com making planner stickers.

(CCM)  What do you do first thing when you get up in the morning?

(BREE) First thing in the morning I cuddle with my pup Aria and then make myself a coffee. I can’t start my day without a coffee!

(CCM) Where is the most interesting place you have ever traveled to and where would you like to visit someday that you have not been to yet?

(BREE) I traveled to Europe for 10 days when I was in High School. I went to Rome, Paris and London and LOVED it! I want to go back so badly and experience it again now that I am older and can appreciate it differently. I would love to travel to Bali and Thailand and Australia – those are some of my top places I want to see.

(CCM) How did you get into music?

(BREE) I was brought into this world to music – literally. My Dad had a mix tape he played in the delivery room when I was born so I feel like music was something I was born to do. My Dad has always been a huge music fan and he was always introducing me to new artists when I was growing up and we always had music playing. I listen to every genre of music thanks to my Dad! I would take his old albums like The Eagles, ACDC, Elton John etc. and listen to them in my CD Walkman. I feel like music is in my veins and does something magical to me when I listen to it no matter which artist or genre. Creating music is an even more unreal and magical experience that I feel so blessed to be able to be doing.

(CCM) Who are your major influences?

(BREE) I have SO many musical influences. I grew up listening to literally everything from Elton John, The Eagles, Stevie Nicks, ABBA, Shania Twain, Amanda Marshall to Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera, The Dixie Chicks, Michelle Branch…the list goes on. I love music. I love so many artists and get inspired by so many current artists out there as well as the oldies that I can’t help but go back to time and time again. I could really go on forever!

(CCM) Tell us why you chose to move into the area of music professionally?

(BREE) I don’t think it was a choice – I feel like it was something I was destined for. It’s something I have always wanted since I was really little, so I always saw myself pursuing this and making it a reality in some way. What made me really take music seriously and move forward towards my career was losing a close friend. He died suddenly in a car accident and was gone in an instant. Losing him and losing someone so close to me so suddenly really put life into perspective, made me realize how short life can be and to stop taking it for granted. He had always supported me and my music and after he died, his death just opened my eyes and made me realize that I was procrastinating too much and making too many excuses for myself. I decided in that moment that it was now or never and that I needed to give this 100% if I really wanted to make my lifelong dream a reality. I have been going non-stop ever since and won’t until I get there. It was a horrible experience losing someone so close so suddenly but it really changed me and I know he is looking out for me in heaven and helping me on this journey.

(CCM) What makes You tick?

(BREE) People who are disloyal.

(CCM) What would your fans be surprised to know about you?

(BREE) Well I am pretty transparent with my fans but I think they would be surprised to know that I am a writer in more ways than just music. I grew up writing stories and novels and even FanFiction’s to my favourite book series. I LOVE writing and being creative and getting lost in another world so I have so many ideas in my head for novels that I have written down or started over the years that hopefully one day I can sit down and finish and hopefully get published.

(CCM) What is the biggest life lesson that you have learned in music, and in life, that you believe would be valuable wisdom to share with other artists?

(BREE) The biggest life lesson I have learned is that life is too short to waste your time on things and people that don’t matter. Focus on YOU and the positive people around you and don’t let the small things bring you down or deter you from your dreams. Keep going no matter what! Fight those voices in your head telling you that you can’t or you aren’t good enough because they’re wrong. You are your biggest fan and strongest support and if you persevere and work hard you will get where you want to go against all odds. Be positive and be happy and you will go far and live a happy life 🙂

(CCM) Is there anything else that you can share with us that we haven’t touched on today?

(BREE) Yes! My new single “What You’re Looking For” comes out October 13th and the music video will be out early November. I can’t wait for everyone to hear this song and think everyone can connect to it in some way.

(CCM) Do you have any tours coming up?

(BREE) I don’t have any tours currently but will be performing a lot next spring/summer for sure. I post all performance updates on my website – www.BreeTaylor.com

(CCM) How do people discover your music?

(BREE) They can check it out on Spotify, Apple Music, iTunes, Soundcloud etc! I also have my songs out on YouTube with music videos at www.youtube.com/breetaylor

(CCM) How did you find out about HGB? Would you recommend this radio station to others? If so why?

(BREE) I found out about HGB through Carla. I would definitely recommend this radio station to others – they play great music especially indie artists who are upcoming and undiscovered and give fans an opportunity to connect with the artists in a more personal way.

 

Leave a Reply

